Some Logical proofs in support of 20 Rakahs Taravih

12/12/2012 21:25


Some Logical proofs in support of 20 Rakahs Taravih


Hakeem ul Ummat Mufti Ahmad Yaar Khan Ashrafi Nayimi states:


1. The Holy Quran is made up of Ayahs {Verses}, Surahs {Chapters} and Rukus {Paragraphs}. The article which has been given a name is known as ‘Surah’, and sentences in the Holy Quran which have no separate name are known as ‘Ayahs’. But, what is a ‘Ruku’? ‘Surah’ means ‘something that surrounds’ {i.e. it surrounds one subject, eg: Surah al Fatiha}, and ‘Ayah’ means a ‘sign’. However, ‘Ruku’ means ‘to Bend’. Why is it called so?

From the books of ‘Qirat’, it is known that the amount of the Holy Quran recited before going into the ‘Ruku’ position in Taravih by Sayyiduna Umar and Sayyiduna Uthman was called ‘1 Ruku’! In other words, it was the amount they recited before going into that position. Based on Taravih being read as 20 Rakahs, and the Holy Quran being completed on the 27th Ramadan, there should be 540 Rakats or Rukus to complete the Holy Quran. However, 557 Rukus were appointed because on the last day, many short Surahs are read in the final Rakats. If Taravih was 8 Rakats, there should only be a total of 216 Rukus ! The amount of Rukus in the Holy Quran establishes that Taravih should be 20 Rakats. Can the Wahhabiya, after accepting Taravih to be 8 Rakats, explain the reasoning of the Quranic Rukus?


2. Taravih is tha plural of ‘Tarviha’, which means ‘giving rest to the body’. After every 4 Rakats, we sit for recuperation and comfort. This sitting is called ‘Tarviha’ and it is for this reason that this ‘Namaz’ {Salah} is called ‘Taravih’ {i.e. the collection of comforts}. Taravih is plural and the plural form of a word is used in for a minimum of Three (3). If Taravih was 8 Rakats, there should be only One (1) ‘Tarviha’ between these 8 Rakats. So, it shouldn’t even be called ‘Taravih’ and because, for Three (3) ‘Tarvihas’, atleast a minimum of 16 Rakats are needed. After every 4 Rakats, One (1) ‘Tarviha’ will occur . Thus, the name ‘Taravih’ itself refutes the 8 Rakats theory!


3. Also, there are 20 Rakats of ‘Salah’ Farz {Obligatory} to be performed every day- 17 Farz {2, 4, 4, 3 and 4 for the Five (5) daily Salah} and 3 ‘Witr’. In Ramazan Sharif, Allah Almighty instituted these 20 Rakats of Taravih to compliment and perfect the 20 daily Rakats of Namaz, every Rakat of which compliments the Rakats of Farz Namazs. Ghayr Muqallidin {Ahle Hadith/ Salafis} probably offer only 8 Farz Rakats in the Five Farz Namazs daily. Otherwise, what connection do these 8 Rakats of Taravih have with the 20 established Farz Namazs.

4. Suppose even there are Hadiths and Sayings in support of 8 Rakats of Taravih, then also it is better to offer 20 Rakats of Taravih as these are also proven from the Hadiths of Rasul Allah  and the Sayings and Practice of Sahaba. It must be remembered that those who offer only 8 Rakats of Taravih are bound to miss the remaining 12 Rakats while those who offer complete 20 Rakats of Taravih undoubtedly also offer 8 Rakats of Taravih. Thus, offering 20 Rakats of Taravih is better and is in a way practicing upon both the Hadiths!

Compiled & Translated by 

Basharath Ali Siddiqui Ashrafi